Design and Doodles · Drawing · Hand Lettering · Paintstorm · Surface Pattern

Fresh From the Farm — Spoonflower Contest

This is my third proper attempt at drawing words for a tea towel design to enter into a Spoonflower contest. It’s also the first time that I’ve researched Hand Lettering for beginners. Oh well, better late than never eh? Check out my blog post for free resources and awesome websites for hand lettering newbies!

I also learnt how to digitalise hand drawn elements, so I actually wrote ‘Fresh’ and ‘Farm’ in a sketchbook rather than drawing the letters straight on my iPad (tutorial for how to do this is in progress!). Then I just tidied the letters up on my iPad (I’d be lost without my touch screen pens for this – they’re super cheap as well, less than £10 on Amazon 🙂 )

I’m absolutely in love with the chalkboard art that I seem to be seeing everywhere at the moment (maybe that’s because I search for it but whatever). So I’m sticking to that style. There are some good inspiration photos on my Baileys Hot Chocolate post – I recommend checking them out 😉 (by the way, that design placed 9 out of 184 in the last contest!)

However this time, the brief is called ‘Farm to Tea Towel’ and the guidance is to “Turn the next trip to your local market into an inspirational adventure for this week’s design challenge. Using your design technique of choice, create a repeating design inspired by your favorite fruits and veggies”. Here it is:

Truth be told as I was designing this tea towel I had totally forgotten that the design needed to be repeating. Oh well… At least it’s farmers market inspired!

Saying that, it does still look good repeated (I actually went on to Roostery to see what a mock up of this design looked like on duvets, chairs, dinner napkins and wallpaper! I should be embarrassed by this behaviour…). I particularly like the wallpaper. It would look excellent on a feature wall in a kitchen or as a decorative touch to a pantry.

I’ve now uploaded this design to the Spoonflower contest and here is what it looks like on a tea towel – poor quality image but cool to see it as a product!

People like me (over enthusiastic newbie designers) get reaaally excited when designs on Spoonflower receive votes in the contest, or are added as favourites, so if ya wanna make a gal smile and jump around in circles, check out my shop on Spoonflower and if you like what you see – add some as favourites or share them on social media 🙂

I’m no way asking for people to actually vote for my design in the contest as there will be loads of designs uploaded, but please check out the contest and vote for whoever you think has an awesome design, you can vote for as many or as few as you like and you don’t need to have a Spoonflower account do it. I normally vote for about 5 because I can never decide on just one or two!

Until next time 🙈<<<<<<<

13 thoughts on “Fresh From the Farm — Spoonflower Contest

  1. Love it. I will check the roostery about mock up designs. I’ve always wanted my arts to be placed somwhere. I’m a practical type so I feel it’s a waste to just put accomplished works in a box. Haha

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ahhh im a bit like you in that way, I have so many files of designs that are just hidden and it definitely feels wasteful! Yeah definitely check out Roostery – it’s really fun to see what your designs look like on actual products. Super useful as well 🙂

      Like

  2. This is absolutely lovely! I recently stumbled on the art of hand lettering and admire the creative practice greatly. It has given me a newfound appreciation for the many examples I come upon daily, that previously I’d taken for granted. I’m surprised to hear you’re new to the art from, particularly after seeing your submission to the contest, which is absolutely gorgeous and so charming! I think your rendition is a real contender and will be voting in your favour. 😉

    Keep up the wonderful work and I so look forward to seeing more of your posts!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much! I feel the same way, the more I learn about it, the more I appreciate how much people put into it – and I notice it everywhere I go now, on signs etc…

      Thanks again, as a newbie I get extra excited when people like my creations 🙂

      Like

  3. Woah! This is so amazing. You’re very talented and creative. It’s a lot more difficult to express the ideas by simple letterings instead of any pictures and you have pulled it off so well. Way to go girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This design looks very nice! It would make a great print too for any kitchen I think. Checking designs on mock ups is also a part of my creative process when designing for print-on-demand because sometimes it is the best way to test out the suitability of a design for a given product.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

